Nominees for The Cartoonist of the Year for 2022 have been announced by The National Cartoonists Society for their 77th annual Reuben Award. The award winners are scheduled to be announced on September 7, 2023.

The list includes:

  • Bill Griffith (Zippy the Pinhead)
  • Will Henry (Wallace the Brave)
  • Hilary B. Price (Rhymes With Orange)
  • Jeff Smith (Bone)
  • Mark Tatulli (LiĆ²)

NCS members work in many branches of the cartooning profession, including advertising, animation, newspaper comic strips and syndicated single-panel cartoons, comic books, editorial cartoons, gag cartoons, graphic novels, greeting cards, magazine and book illustration. The NCS only recently welcomed webcomics into their fold.

The Reuben Award, which was started in 1954, is presented annually at a gala during a formal, black-tie banquet evening. Aside from the Cartoonist of the Year award, there are also divisional awards for:

  • Advertising/product illustration
  • Book illustration
  • Comic book
  • Gag cartoons
  • Graphic novel
  • Editorial cartoons
  • Magazine/newspaper illustration
  • Newspaper panels
  • Newspaper comic strips
  • Online comics: long form
  • Online comics: short form
  • Variety entertainment

Source: NCS